Other Iwi Authorities (Tākitimu)

Please read: The term “iwi authority” is defined in the RMA only for the purposes of that Act. An iwi authority is not, therefore, necessarily the same thing as other representative iwi organisations recognised by the Crown. Consequently entry as an “Other Iwi Authority” does not in itself specifically imply formal Crown recognition of that group as an iwi, nor formal Crown recognition of that “iwi authority” to act on behalf of that group.

Te Iwi o Rakaipaaka Inc

Last updated: 12/04/2022

Resource Management Act consultation - Other Iwi Authorities. Represents this group as an "iwi authority" for the purposes of the Resource Management Act 1991.

Hapu Represented: Ngāti Rangi, Ngāi Te Rehu, Ngāi Tamakahu, Ngāi Tureia and Ngāti Kauaha

Area of Interest (Rohe): This area of interests begin at the mouth of the Waikokopu Stream, following the coastline to the south past Te Toka a Te Huki and then turning south-westerly on to Te Iho o Te Ratau, Te Uruti and Te Pakipaki i a Te Ratau, continuing along the coastline in a south-west direction to the mouth of Nga Nuhaka River and from here continuing on to the mouth of Tahaenui River. The boundary continues extending in a south-westerly direction along the coastline to the mouth of Opoho Stream - which signifies the western shared-boundary line with our whanaunga of Ngai Te Ipu and Ngati Hine. Following the Opoho Stream inland viz. Te Kaha o Turei block, Hereheretau block, Mangapoike block and then onto its source at Maraetaha which is Te Whare o Tamanuhiri ki Te Rawhiti, Te Mini block and signifies our northern shared boundary line with our whanaunga of Ngai Tamanuhiri. This northern boundary continues in an easterly direction across Te Puninga Block (also known as Te Manga-o-Puraka Block) and then turns south easterly in to the Wharerata Blocks - with the eastern extremities of this block forming the shared-boundary line with our whanaunga of Rongomaiwahine and Te Ra-ka-to. Our boundary then continues onto the Kopuawhara Blocks and to the source of the Opoutama River - following said river to its mouth. From here, the boundary then turns south along the coastline past Whakarau Ika, Waitangirua and Te Ana a Kauaha carrying on until its reaches the mouth of the Waikokopu Stream, which is the beginning point of our boundary and encapsulating all lands, rivers, streams, geothermal, forest, mountains, etc. within the boundaries outlined above.
Click to see Area of Interest map [JPG, 127KB].

Local Authorities: Hawkes Bay Regional Council; Wairoa District Council

Legal entity: Incorporated Society

Transition Manager: Johnina Symes

Chairperson: Pauline Symes

Administration: Johnina Symes

RMA Contact: Graeme Symes Ph: 06 837 8794 / 027 499 2237 Email: graemes58@hotmail.com

Postal Address:
PO Box 106,
Nūhaka 4165.

Physical Address:
SH2, Ngati Rangi Street,

Phone: 06 837 8885

Mobile: 027 389 3266

Email: info@ngatirakaipaaka.iwi.nz

Website: https://www.ngatirakaipaaka.iwi.nz