Other Iwi Authorities (Te Tai Tokerau)

The term “iwi authority” is defined in the RMA only for the purposes of that Act. An iwi authority is not, therefore, necessarily the same thing as other representative iwi organisations recognised by the Crown. Consequently entry as an “Other Iwi Authority” does not in itself specifically imply formal Crown recognition of that group as an iwi, nor formal recognition by the Crown of that “iwi authority” to act on behalf of that iwi.

Patuharakeke Te Iwi Trust Board

Last updated: 26/08/2019

Resource Management Act consultation. Represents this group as an "iwi authority" for the purposes of the Resource Management Act 1991.

Hapu Represented: Patuharakeke

Area of Interest (Rohe): Patuharakeke Te Iwi Trust Board represents the Patuharakeke Hapu, tangata whenua of the Rohe o Patuharakeke with regards to resource management including the natural, physical and spiritual environment. Patuharakeke traditional rohe stretches from offshore Whangarei Heads west through to McLeod Bay across to Snake bank moving south-west inland towards ToeToe to the Tangihua ranges and south to include Brynderwyn (or Piroa) and Kakanui Ranges to a point north of Mangawhai Heads to the entrance of the Mangapai river. The rohe includes inter alia; the southern side of the Whangarei Harbour from Snake bank, our marae at Takahiwai and on the seaward side, including the foreshore, seabed, coast and islands offshore from Marsden Point (or Poupouwhenua), Ruakaka, Waipu, Langs Beach south towards Mangawhai Heads.
Click to see Area of Interest map [PDF, 7.35MB].

Local Authorities: Whangarei District Council; Northland Regional Council

Legal entity: Charitable Trust

Chairperson: Gilbert Paki

RMA Contact: Juliane Chetham Ph: 021 169 7162 Email: admin@patuharakeke.maori.nz

Postal Address:
PO Box 557,
Whangarei 0141.

Physical Address:
8 Marsden Bay Drive,
Marsden Point,

Email: admin@patuharakeke.maori.nz

Website: http://www.patuharakeke.maori.nz

Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Hine

Last updated: 14/11/2018

Resource Management Act consultation. Represents this group as an "iwi authority" for the purposes of the Resource Management Act 1991.

Hapu Represented: Ngati Hine

Area of Interest (Rohe): Click to see Area of Interest map [JPG, 83KB].

Local Authorities: Northland Regional Council; Whangarei District Council; Far North District Council

Note: Iwi status of Ngāti Hine under the Māori Fisheries Act 2004: Section 24 of the Māori Fisheries Act states that if Ngāti Hine withdraws from the joint mandated iwi organisation of Ngāpuhi in accordance with the constitutional documents of Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Hine becomes, upon completion if its withdrawal, an iwi for the purposes of the Act (sections 19 - 23 set out the detail of this process).

Legal entity: Charitable Trust

Governance structure: Thirteen Ngāti Hine marae provide 3 representatives each to Te Mara a Hineamaru, the tribal parliament.

Deputy Chair: Pita Tipene

Chairperson: Te Waihoroi Shortland

Secretary: Rowena Tana

RMA Contact: Marlema (Dolly) Baker Ph: 021 0867 1661 Email: ngatirairakaongatihine@gmail.com

Postal Address:
PO Box 36,
Kawakawa 0243.

Physical Address:
7 Wynyard Street,

Mobile: 021 513 428

Email: tepuna_omahu@hotmail.com